Chandos Records

My Wish List

Manage wish list


Popular Artists on this website

Airat Ichmouratov

‘Airat is a communicator in the best sense of the word. His music immediately grabs the listener, and a journey starts: storytelling, landscapes, emotions... It is precious to have such music in our world today.’ So writes the conductor Yannick Ne´zet-Se´guin of the award-winning Russian-Canadian composer and conductor Airat Ichmouratov whose music has been performed in countries around the world by a wide range of ensembles and musicians, including Maxim Vengerov, Yuli Turovsky and I Musici de Montréal, Agnieszka Duczmal and the Amadeus Chamber Orchestra of Polish Radio, Evgeny Bushkov and the Belarusian State Chamber Orchestra, Taipei Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre symphonique de Québec, Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa, Les Violons du Roy, New Orford String Quartet, Tatarstan National Symphony Orchestra, and Symphony Orchestra of India. Holding a PhD in orchestral conducting from the Université de Montréal, he has served as Conductor in Residence of Les Violons du Roy (2007 – 09) and Orchestre symphonique de Québec (2009 – 11) and guest conducted orchestras around the world. Presently he is Conductor and Composer in Residence of the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil. Born in Kazan, Russia, he studied clarinet at the Kazan State Conservatory. After moving to Canada in 1998 he founded the Muczynski Trio, which in 2002 won First prize and the Grand Award at the National Music Festival in Canada, and in 2004 First Prize at the Eighth International Competition of Contemporary Chamber Music in Krakow, Poland. In 2000, Airat Ichmouratov joined the award winning klezmer group Kleztory, which has appeared as soloists with numerous orchestras including the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Orchestre symphonique de Québec, and Brussels Chamber Orchestra. Between 2000 and 2019 Kleztory has given more than 800 concerts in sixteen countries.

Latest releases

Back to Top
Chandos Records
Chandos House
1 Commerce Park
Commerce Way
United Kingdom