Chandos Records

My Wish List

Manage wish list


Popular Artists on this website


Founded as a radio orchestra in 1925 in connection with the launch of the Danish Broadcasting Corporation (DR), the Danish National Symphony Orchestra consists today of ninety-nine musicians. It is based in the DR Concert Hall, which was inaugurated in 2009; one of Europe’s most spectacular concert halls, it is the work of the French architect Jean Nouvel with acoustics designed by Yasuhisa Toyota. In 2012, succeeding such influential conductors as Thomas Dausgaard, Gerd Albrecht, Ulf Schirmer, Leif Segerstam, and Lamberto Gardelli, the Spanish maestro Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos will take up the post of the Orchestra’s chief conductor. The Orchestra’s honorary conductor is Herbert Blomstedt, chief conductor from 1967 to 1977. Principal guest conductors have been Yuri Temirkanov, Michael Schønwandt, and Dmitri Kitayenko. In its early years the Orchestra was built up by the two legendary conductors Fritz Busch and Nicolai Malko, the latter since honoured with the international Malko Competition for Young Conductors. The Orchestra has performed under such luminaries as Bruno Walter, Eugene Ormandy, Leopold Stokowski, Rafael Kubelík, Sergiu Celibidache, Kirill Kondrashin, Yevgeny Svetlanov, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Christoph Eschenbach, and Kurt Sanderling, and over the past years has worked regularly with Gary Bertini, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Sylvain Cambreling, Marek Janowski, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Christopher Hogwood, and Ton Koopman. The Danish National Symphony Orchestra has collaborated with composers such as Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Hindemith, Boulez, Lutosławski, Stockhausen, and Henze, as both soloists and conductors.

Back to Top
Chandos Records
Chandos House
1 Commerce Park
Commerce Way
United Kingdom